CFHS Academic Awards Ceremony


Lilly Hortis, Staff Writer

On May 16, Carolina Forest High School held their annual Academic Banquet. At the banquet, seniors and selected juniors received rewards for outstanding academic work and achievements shown all throughout their high school career.

Dr. Melissa Richardson-Sanders, one of our psychology teachers, served as the Mistress of Ceremonies. Dr. Richardson-Sanders described the banquet as, “an opportunity for those students who have excelled academically to be recognized for their hard work, determination, and dedication.”

It was a wonderful morning full of well-deserving students:

Palmetto Fellows: Jacob Dozler, Delaney Higgins, Kinley Hysner, Jacob Josefsberg, Yeva Mkoyan, Bridgett Young

AP Academy: Gabrielle Arambula, Aimee Boudreau, Megan Bright, Thao Nguyen Bui, Cassidy Duff, Rowan Fling, Jade Gambill, Kinley Hysner, Emma Kurth, Sara Martin, Yeva Mkhoyan, Madeline Oliver, Charlene Roy, Rachel Snyder-Mounts, Bridgett Young

AP Scholars: Trevor Atkins, Aimee Boudreau, Thao Nguyen Bui, Bailey Cox, Delaney Higgins, Jacob Josefsberg, Robert Marrs, Rachel Snyder-Mounts, Justin Turbeville, Jerod Walden, Noelle Williams, Josiah Wilson, Nash Wrenn, Bridgett Young

AP Scholars with Honor: Megan Bright, Kyler Febbroriello, Rowan Fling, Acacia Hollins, Emma Kurth, Kaden Leonard, Madeline Oliver, Paige Petrizzo, Brandon Wrenn

AP Scholars with Distinction: Brentley Delamar, Elijah Donellan, Jacob Dozler, Jade Gambill, Dylan McLean, Yeva Mkhoyan

Preliminary Summa Cum Laude: Delaney Higgins, Jacob Josefsberg, Yeva Mkhoyan, Tori Powers, Vanessa Venegas-Soriano, Bridgett Young

Boys State: Christian Cassidy, Gene Gubatina, Andrew Jordan

Girls State: Nyah Julius, Abigail Kerwin

Junior Marshalls: Kaitlyn Kulick, Madison Powell

National Honors Society Presidential Medal and Vice Presidential Plaque: Alexandria Vereen and Yeva Mkhoyan

Coastal Teal Scholar: Shelbi Ankiewicz, Megan Bright, Rebecca Brooks, Cassidy Duff, Eden Hibionada, Emma Kurth, Delaney Lowrie, Caleb McClellan, Amya Miller, Natalia Najjar, Andre Newbauerr, Tori Powers, Zoe Vaccaro, Thomas Wrenn

Coastal Scholars: Brandon Wrenn, Alexis Stultz, Paige Petrizzo, Sara Martin, Noah Kessler, Lyjah Degrood, Carissa Cramer, Adam Bretton, Mikayla Barrett

President’s Scholar: Brentley Delamar, Elijah Donellan, Kim Garcia-Morales, Anna Hoang

Provost’s Scholar: Dakota Nealey, Kyler Febbroriello

Visual and Performing Arts Scholar: Carlos Santamaria

Outstanding Senior Awards:   Career Field: Deena Othman; Physical Ed: Bryce Crawford;  Science: Rachel Snyder-Mounts; Performing Arts: Noah Kessler; Social Studies: Yeva Mkhoyan; Math: Delaney Higgins; English: Bridgett Young; Visual Arts: Kate Osborne; Foreign Language: Bridgett Young; NJROTC: Tiffany Davis

SC Army National Guard Tuition Assistance: Brandon Lehman, Payton Jones

US Marine Corp Distinguished Athlete Award: Jackson Weatherwax

USMC Scholastic Excellence Award: Tiffany Davis, Brandon Garris

USMC Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence: Bailey Cox, Josh Turner

HTC Reel Kids: Leah Kozoidek

Jo Defeo Memorial Scholarship: Tiffany Davis

HCHEC Hardship and Adversity Scholarship: Shelbi Ankiewicz

Carolina Forest Library Scholarship: Bridgett Young

SC Nathan M. Wolfe Law Enforcement Cadet Academy: Kevin Caldwell

Pilot Club of Conway: Rachel Snyder-Mounts

Conway Area Chamber of Commerce Salute to Education Outstanding Senior: Brandon Garris

Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce Salute to Education Outstanding Senior: Megan Bright

DAR Good Citizen Award: Tiffany Davis

HGTC Presidential Scholarship: Trinity Viering

Sheriff’s Foundation of Horry County’s Annual Scholarship: Mikayla Barrett

The Prowler’s Editor Award: Cassidy Duff, Shelbi Ankiewicz

Performing Arts Thespians of the Year: Noah Kessler, Leonard Ja’Quan Shelton

One of the most valuable awards given at the ceremony is the Panther Award. It is awarded to a student in the top percentage of the class who exemplifies high standards integrity, characters, leadership and school involvement. The winner of 2018-2019 Panther Award was Yeva Mkhoyan.

Congratulation to all recipients and good luck in your future.